Frances H. Arnold, PhD

Nobel Laureate in Chemistry (2018)

Frances H. Arnold, PhD, is the Linus Pauling Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering and Biochemistry and the Director of the Donna and Benjamin M. Rosen Bioengineering Center at the California Institute of Technology and was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2018 for pioneering the use of directed evolution to engineer enzymes. In 1993, she conducted the first directed evolution of enzymes, which are proteins that catalyze chemical reactions. Since then, she has refined the methods that are now used in a variety of applications, such as the development of new biocatalysts, which are applied in pharmaceutical synthesis, the manufacture of other chemicals, and in the production of renewable fuels. She has made significant contributions to advance the fields of protein engineering, directed protein evolution, structure-guided protein recombination, biocatalysis, and biofuels.

In addition to the Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2018), Dr. Arnold is the recipient of numerous international awards, including most recently: NAS Sackler Prize in Convergence Research (2017); Millennium Technology Prize (2016); Honorary Doctorate, University of Chicago (2016) and ETH Zurich (2015); National Inventors Hall of Fame (2014); Doctorate Honoris Causa, Stockholm University (2013); ENI Prize in Renewable and Nonconventional Energy (2013); National Medal of Technology and Innovation (2011); Charles Stark Draper Prize (2011); American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2011); Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (2010); Fellow, American Academy of Microbiology (2009); National Academy of Sciences (2008); Linnaeus Lecturer, Uppsala University (2008); Cruickshank Lecturer, Gordon Research Conferences (2008);FASEB Excellence in Science Award (2007); Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal, American Chemical Society (2005); Institute of Medicine of the National Academies (2004); David Perlman Lecture Award, American Chemical Society (2003); and the National Academy of Engineering (2000).

She holds a B.S. in mechanical and aerospace engineering from Princeton University, a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley, a postdoctoral in chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley, and a postdoctoral in chemistry from the California Institute of Technology.