Christoper M. Sinko, PhD

Bristol–Myers Squibb

Senior Vice President and Head, Product Development

Christopher M. Sinko, PhD, is Senior Vice President and Head, Product Development, Bristol-Myers Squibb, where he serves as the point of accountability for drug development and registration and the successful transfer of products and processes into commercial manufacturing. This role spans biologics development, chemical development, analytical development, formulation development, clinical supplies manufacturing, and distribution, and on a site level, development sites in Belgium, the UK, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Washington and Connecticut.

He joined Bristol-Myers Squibb in 2008 as Vice President, Drug Product Science & Technology and since then, he has held various leadership roles, including Senior Vice President, Pharmaceutical Development (2011–2017).

Prior to joining Bristol-Myers Squibb, Dr. Sinko held various leadership roles at Pfizer from 1991 to 2008, including Executive Director for Global Materials Science/Oral Products Center of Emphasis, Senior Director of Analytical R&D (involving commercial methods development/transfer and technology), and Director of Pharmaceutical R&D (involving formulation development, clinical supply manufacture, and technology transfer).

He started his career as a scientist in 1989 at Upjohn Company (later acquired by Pfizer), where he was responsible for the preformulation and early development of small-and large-molecule drug candidates. He continued as a scientist with Pfizer, where he was responsible for the design and development of solid, oral dosage forms and where he established a materials-science laboratory for developing solid dosage forms.

Dr. Sinko earned his B.S. in chemical engineering with a concentration in materials engineering from Rutgers University. He received his M.S. and PhD in pharmaceutics at the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy. In 1987, Dr. Sinko was awarded the PhRMA Foundation Pre-Doctoral Fellowship in Pharmaceutics. He is a member of the International Society for Pharmaceutical Engineering and the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists.